Personal tools
You are here: Home eShelf & Research Good Reads
"All of the books in the world contain no more information than is broadcast as video in a single large American city in a single year. Not all bits have equal value."

—Carl Sagan (b. 1934) American astronomer noted for research for extraterrestrial life

 

Powell's Daily Book Reviews



Review-a-Day for Fri, Sep 30: Wendy and the Lost Boys: The Uncommon Life of Wendy Wasserstein 
  Fri, 30 Sep 2011 00:00:01 PST 


Review-a-Day for Thu, Sep 29: Poisoned: The True Story of the Deadly E. Coli Outbreak That Changed the Way Americans Eat 
  Thu, 29 Sep 2011 00:00:01 PST 


Review-a-Day for Wed, Sep 28: The Echo Chamber 
  Wed, 28 Sep 2011 00:00:01 PST 


Review-a-Day for Tue, Sep 27: The Social Animal: The Hidden Sources of Love, Character, and Achievement 
  Tue, 27 Sep 2011 00:00:01 PST 


Review-a-Day for Mon, Sep 26: Supergods: What Masked Vigilantes, Miraculous Mutants, and a Sun God from Smallville Can Teach Us about Being Human 
  Mon, 26 Sep 2011 00:00:01 PST 


Review-a-Day for Sun, Sep 25: Habibi 
  Sun, 25 Sep 2011 00:00:01 PST 
    HabibiHabibi by Craig Thompson, a review from NPR by Glen Weldon.


Review-a-Day for Sat, Sep 24: Under the Banner of Heaven: A Story of Violent Faith 
  Sat, 24 Sep 2011 00:00:01 PST 


Review-a-Day for Fri, Sep 23: Mightier Than the Sword: Uncle Tom's Cabin and the Battle for America 
  Fri, 23 Sep 2011 00:00:01 PST 


Review-a-Day for Thu, Sep 22: Driving Home: An American Journey 
  Thu, 22 Sep 2011 00:00:01 PST 


Review-a-Day for Wed, Sep 21: Life Itself: A Memoir 
  Wed, 21 Sep 2011 00:00:01 PST 


Review-a-Day for Tue, Sep 20: Fighting Chance: The Struggle Over Woman Suffrage and Black Suffrage in Reconstruction America 
  Tue, 20 Sep 2011 00:00:01 PST 


Review-a-Day for Mon, Sep 19: Mister Wonderful: A Love Story 
  Mon, 19 Sep 2011 00:00:01 PST 


Review-a-Day for Sun, Sep 18: In Red 
  Sun, 18 Sep 2011 00:00:01 PST 
    In RedIn Red by Magdalena Tulli, a review from NPR by Jessa Crispin.


Review-a-Day for Sat, Sep 17: Big Vegan: 400 Recipes: No Meat, No Dairy, All Delicious 
  Sat, 17 Sep 2011 00:00:01 PST 


Review-a-Day for Fri, Sep 16: Potato: A History of the Propitious Esculent 
  Fri, 16 Sep 2011 00:00:01 PST 
Library Catalog

Advanced Search
Your Account
New York Times Book Reviews
[see more]
Search the Web
Google

National News From NPR
The Jewish Kid From New Jersey Who Became A Radical Islamist  Fri, 25 Apr 2014 03:09:00 -0400
Got My Goat? Vermont Farms Put Fresh Meat On Refugee Tables  Fri, 25 Apr 2014 03:08:00 -0400
With Medical Debt Rising, Some Doctors Push For Payment Upfront  Fri, 25 Apr 2014 03:07:20 -0400
[see more]
World News From BBC
Russia 'destabilising' Ukraine - US  Fri, 25 Apr 2014 08:58:57 GMT
Search for Malaysia plane to widen  Fri, 25 Apr 2014 07:56:32 GMT
Arrest after Bali plane hijack alert  Fri, 25 Apr 2014 08:31:58 GMT
[see more]